<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: bigfinder &#8211; another perfect match for the filters</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.nodepet.com/bigfinder-another-perfect-match-for-the-filters/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.nodepet.com/bigfinder-another-perfect-match-for-the-filters/</link>
	<description>electro acoustic expressionism</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Thu, 03 Jun 2010 13:31:27 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.9.2</generator>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
		<item>
		<title>By: David Keech</title>
		<link>http://www.nodepet.com/bigfinder-another-perfect-match-for-the-filters/#comment-88</link>
		<dc:creator>David Keech</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 13 Mar 2009 12:17:53 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.nodepet.com/?p=232#comment-88</guid>
		<description>I&#039;m sure you&#039;re right, Olliver, I don&#039;t think they would care much where a site is hosted.  Backlinks are backlinks after all.

IP addresses can be very misleading.  Although I am Australian and my website was hosted in Australia at the time of that comment, I actually live in London.

I used work for a London company whose website was partially hosted in Canada and later, another whose websites were hosted on the AOL network and showed up as being hosted in America, even though some of them were in London and some were in Germany.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;m sure you&#8217;re right, Olliver, I don&#8217;t think they would care much where a site is hosted.  Backlinks are backlinks after all.</p>
<p>IP addresses can be very misleading.  Although I am Australian and my website was hosted in Australia at the time of that comment, I actually live in London.</p>
<p>I used work for a London company whose website was partially hosted in Canada and later, another whose websites were hosted on the AOL network and showed up as being hosted in America, even though some of them were in London and some were in Germany.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Jason</title>
		<link>http://www.nodepet.com/bigfinder-another-perfect-match-for-the-filters/#comment-87</link>
		<dc:creator>Jason</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 15 Feb 2009 20:52:19 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.nodepet.com/?p=232#comment-87</guid>
		<description>Thanks for the info! These guys are now BLOCKED!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Thanks for the info! These guys are now BLOCKED!</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: olliver</title>
		<link>http://www.nodepet.com/bigfinder-another-perfect-match-for-the-filters/#comment-84</link>
		<dc:creator>olliver</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 04 Feb 2009 06:26:58 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.nodepet.com/?p=232#comment-84</guid>
		<description>Chloe,

Real search engines have their own address ranges (if you check whois for the ip address), often with a properly set PTR (reverse DNS entry, ip -&gt; hostname),  and try to avoid pissing off webmasters for they know that once they&#039;re blocked their research and business opportunity will be rather limited.

So someone posing as search engine and crawling from some anonymous data centre will always have a credibillity problem from the start. In this age of webspam/junk 2.0 it has become quite common to deny access to one&#039;s websites from ip addresses belonging to hosting companies, especially when these are dressed up as human visitors. Fortunately I get frequently hit by compromised webservers automagically probing for known exploits, because that keeps my deny-list current ;-)

O.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Chloe,</p>
<p>Real search engines have their own address ranges (if you check whois for the ip address), often with a properly set PTR (reverse DNS entry, ip -> hostname),  and try to avoid pissing off webmasters for they know that once they&#8217;re blocked their research and business opportunity will be rather limited.</p>
<p>So someone posing as search engine and crawling from some anonymous data centre will always have a credibillity problem from the start. In this age of webspam/junk 2.0 it has become quite common to deny access to one&#8217;s websites from ip addresses belonging to hosting companies, especially when these are dressed up as human visitors. Fortunately I get frequently hit by compromised webservers automagically probing for known exploits, because that keeps my deny-list current ;-)</p>
<p>O.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Chloe</title>
		<link>http://www.nodepet.com/bigfinder-another-perfect-match-for-the-filters/#comment-83</link>
		<dc:creator>Chloe</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 03 Feb 2009 23:32:10 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.nodepet.com/?p=232#comment-83</guid>
		<description>Thanks for this great information, Olliver. I&#039;ve seen these people in my server logs also, and did not know how to deal with them!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Thanks for this great information, Olliver. I&#8217;ve seen these people in my server logs also, and did not know how to deal with them!</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: olliver</title>
		<link>http://www.nodepet.com/bigfinder-another-perfect-match-for-the-filters/#comment-80</link>
		<dc:creator>olliver</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 29 Jan 2009 19:46:51 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.nodepet.com/?p=232#comment-80</guid>
		<description>David,
Thanks for your comment. It appears strange to me that even Australian sites are targetted by this rather poor excuse for a search engine. On the other hand, if the goal is to collect backlinks via forged referrers (there still may be plenty of people running vulnerable referrer lists or statistics with unrestricted access), the tactics don&#039;t seem to be that strange.

In all fairness though, I have to state that the opt-out process was fairly painless. I approached them via their contact form, got a response via their ticket system (not even arguing my point about their fake referrers) and haven&#039;t seen them ever since. I don&#039;t know, however, how well their English is (the lack of translations may give a hint or two about what could be expected).

O.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>David,<br />
Thanks for your comment. It appears strange to me that even Australian sites are targetted by this rather poor excuse for a search engine. On the other hand, if the goal is to collect backlinks via forged referrers (there still may be plenty of people running vulnerable referrer lists or statistics with unrestricted access), the tactics don&#8217;t seem to be that strange.</p>
<p>In all fairness though, I have to state that the opt-out process was fairly painless. I approached them via their contact form, got a response via their ticket system (not even arguing my point about their fake referrers) and haven&#8217;t seen them ever since. I don&#8217;t know, however, how well their English is (the lack of translations may give a hint or two about what could be expected).</p>
<p>O.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: David Keech</title>
		<link>http://www.nodepet.com/bigfinder-another-perfect-match-for-the-filters/#comment-79</link>
		<dc:creator>David Keech</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 29 Jan 2009 14:23:29 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.nodepet.com/?p=232#comment-79</guid>
		<description>Thanks for the extremely thorough information on these guys.  I have noticed them crawling my site (or at least hitting the home page) and the referrer intrigued me.  It looked like a misconfigured bot or possibly a malicious bot but I just wasn&#039;t sure.  Now I am sure.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Thanks for the extremely thorough information on these guys.  I have noticed them crawling my site (or at least hitting the home page) and the referrer intrigued me.  It looked like a misconfigured bot or possibly a malicious bot but I just wasn&#8217;t sure.  Now I am sure.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
